Tech Alert: Restrictions Of The New Hangouts Release For Google Apps Customers Using Google+ Premium Features

Tech Alert: Restrictions Of The New Hangouts Release For Google Apps Customers Using Google+ Premium Features

Restrictions Of The New Hangouts Release For Google Apps Customers Using Google+ Premium Features

“You Are Not Allowed To Join This Video Call”

… is the message that many users are seeing since yesterday as the new Hangouts release is rolling out, when the host of a Hangouts Video Call is a Google Apps user who is part of a domain with Google Plus Premium features activated. Hangouts automatically restricts all HVCs to their domain only, unless they specify PUBLIC sharing at the startup of the Hangouts which makes the hangouts, often unwillingly, accessible to the public.

Until now, when you started a Hangout Video Call, even with the Google Plus Premium features activated, your Hangout was not restricted to your domain, unless you explicitly made that restriction in the admin panel. But now, at startup of the Hangouts as shown below, you have the choice only between all or none: Either restricted to your domain, or public AND PUBLICLY SHARED!

If you restrict the HVC to your domain, no one else outside your domain can join.

Apps11

And if you don’t it becomes PUBLICLY shared on your G+ profile like this:

Apps13

This is quite annoying as you can no more have the in-between situation where your Hangout is accessible to those you invite outside your domain, without being publicly available to all. Only those who are invited or have been forwarded the link could join.

We hope this is a bug, that Google will fix.

In the meantime, your Google Apps Admin can go to “Other Google Services” then “Settings for Google+” and then “Disable Google Plus Premium Features“, as shown below.

Apps12

 

FOR BUSINESS HANGOUTS USERS ON GOOGLE APPS.

When you start a Business Hangouts, unlike a regular Hangouts, BHO takes you directly to the Hangouts and that entry screen is not showing. Your BHO will then be automatically restricted to your domain only, unless your Google Apps Admin  “Disables Google Plus Premium Features”, as shown above. In that case you can let BHO bring in who ever is registered or has the meeting link, as usual.